Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative is one of 17 distribution cooperatives in North Dakota. It serves some 6,000 members on 4,700 miles of line in an area that stretches from the Minnesota border nearly to Ashley, and from the South Dakota border to Jamestown. From headquarter offices in Milnor and Edgeley, and outposts in Wahpeton, Hankinson, Oakes and Gackle, 40 employees work full-time to provide members with electricity and to improve the quality of rural life.